Living Gluten Free

Gluten-Free Recipes: FAQ



The following items are among the most asked-about ingredients and products, and one or more may be the ingredient at issue for those Dr. Gourmet recipes labeled "Safe With Cautions."

Some recipes specify whole wheat rolls or other breads. Choose gluten-free breads.

Spray oils are great, but some of those in the cans you purchase in the grocery might contain gluten.  It's best to purchase an oil sprayer and load it up with your own oils.

All yogurts used in recipes on the Dr. Gourmet web site are plain non-fat yogurt.  Some flavored yogurts contain gluten and should not be used.

Both French's and Lea and Perrins brands of Worcestershire Sauce are gluten free.

Fresh herbs and spices are safe. In the ground and packaged form, use caution with ground spices as some manufacturers do use trace amounts of flour to prevent the product from caking. Most major manufacturers, such as McCormick, do state their single herb or spice products are gluten and additive free.

Splenda produced in the United States is reported as gluten free as this product uses maltodextrin derived from corn. Splenda produced elsewhere may contain gluten, however.  Check the package for its location of manufacture.

The nice folks who make the wonderful Pickappeppa Sauce tell us that it's gluten free.

Many of Newman’s Own products are gluten free including:

Pasta Sauces
Say Cheese
Garlic and Peppers
Tomato and Roasted Garlic
Vodka Sauce
Pesto and Tomato
Marinara (Venetian)
Marinara with Mushrooms
Sockarooni (Mushrooms, Onions, Peppers)
Bombolina (Basil)
Diavolo (Spicy Simmer Sauce)

Salad Dressings
Olive Oil and Vinegar
Light Italian
Ranch
Caesar
Balsamic Vinaigrette
Creamy Caesar
Parmesan and Roasted Garlic
Two Thousand Island
Creamy Italian (Parmesanio Italiano)
Light Raspberry and Walnut
Light Red Wine and Vinegar
Light Balsamic Vinaigrette
Light Caesar Dressing

Hellman's (also known as Best Foods) mayonnaises are gluten free.  We received this note from the nice folks at Best Foods:

At this time, All Hellmann's mayonnaise products are gluten-free (Real, Canola, Light and Reduced Fat). Since product formulations change from time to time, the best advice we can give you is to check the ingredient list on the label. Ingredients that may contain any of the top eight allergens as defined by the FDA, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, fish, seafood, wheat, eggs, and milk or dairy, as well as any ingredient that may contain gluten, are always listed on the label.

About Blue Cheese: Maytag Dairy Farms makes a great blue cheese. Their product is confirmed Gluten free. Rosenborg is also a popular brand in grocery stores.  This comes from an email communication with them:

All Rosenborg cheeses are made with mold cultures that are gluten free. It is thus safe to eat for people that are allergic to Gluten.

Crosse & Blackwell uses wine vinegar only in their capers and thus they are gluten free.

Here's a list of Heinz products that are gluten free:

Heinz Ketchup  (All Varieties)
Heinz Organic Ketchup
Heinz One Carb Ketchup
Heinz No Sodium Added Ketchup
Heinz Hot & Spicy Kick'rs
Distilled White Vinegar
Red Wine Vinegar
Apple Cider Vinegar
Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar

All Classico Pasta Sauces are confirmed gluten free as well.